For all the candy corn lovers out there, this breakdown video may change your opinion about this seasonal fall treat. Aside from using normal culinary building blocks like sugar, corn syrup, salt, and gelatin — there’s some less than appetizing additions that will probably make your skin crawl. Especially if you don’t like insects or bones.
For the last century, the celebration of Halloween has always been infused with the confusing taste of candy corn. Still, this well-known fall treat has been shrouded in mystery. History tells us that this tri-colored candy was created back in the 1800s, and was first marketed as “chicken feed.”
Today, there seems to be a large contrast between candy corn lovers and haters, but let’s face it, candy corn is weird. It’s waxy, it’s soft in an unpleasant way, and it doesn’t even taste all that good. But for some reason or another, once fall comes around, candy corn is always near. However, thanks to a video by Tech Insider exposing candy corn’s sketchy ingredients, now know to keep our precious palates far from it.
The video, published on YouTube Oct. 28, indicates that there’s a gelatinous material, “a protein made from animal parts like hides and bones,” which is not vegan — if you were wondering.
Lastly, at the crux of candy corn’s horrific lineage is a resinous, secreted material that is made from “lac bugs,” which are found in Asia. The “lac-resin,” is used to give candy corn its smooth exterior shell.
Wow. Disgusting is an understatement of how I feel about candy corn’s origins. Now, it’s clear why candy corn is usually around on Halloween — it’s actually frightening.